Bangladesh Public Administration Training Centre (BPATC), the apex training institute in the Public Sector, emerged as an autonomous organisation in 1984 under the Bangladesh Public Administration Training Centre Ordinance 1984 by amalgamating following training institutions:

  • Bangladesh Administrative Staff College (BASC);
  • National Institute of Public Administration (NIPA);
  • Civil Officers' Training Academy (COTA); and
  • Staff Training Institute (STI).

The Centre is located in a lush natural environment and lies at a distance of 28 kilometers from the capital city Dhaka.

Since its inception on 28th April 1984, BPATC has been training the officers of government, autonomous and non-government organisations. Among the courses conducted by the Centre the Foundation Training Course is for the new entrants to the Bangladesh Civil Service while Advanced Course on Administration and Development (ACAD) is for the Deputy Secretaries and their equivalents and Senior Staff Course (SSC) for the Joint Secretaries and their equivalents. In addition to these the centre also conducts a number of short courses. Objectives of these courses among others are to make officers aware of the policies of the Government, familiarise them with the Government Rules & Regulations and apprise them of the recent changes in the field of Public Administration.

The Centre is headed by a Rector who is a senior Secretary to the Government followed by Six Members Directing Staff (MDS) of the rank of Joint Secretary to the Government and they supervise the following six divisions:



  • Management and Public Administration;
  • Programme and Studies and Regional Centers;
  • Development Economics;
  • Research and Consultancy;
  • Development Projects and
  • Management and Development.

Each division consists of a number of departments headed by a Director of the rank of Deputy Secretary. Below them are Deputy Directors, Assistant Directors, Evaluation Officers and Research Officers. The Centre has four Regional Centres called Regional Public Administration Training Centres (RPATC) at four old Divisional Headquarters. Regional Centres are mainly meant for staff training and each of them is headed by a Deputy Director.

BPATC enjoys substantial autonomy in both financial and administrative matters. The twelve-member Board of Governors (BOG) chaired by a Minister provides general policy directions as and when required. The Board is composed of the following members:


  • A cabinet minister nominated by the Government to act as the chairperson of the Board;
  • Cabinet Secretary;
  • Rector, BPATC;
  • Secretary, Ministry of Establishment;
  • Secretary, Finance Division;
  • Secretary, Ministry of Education;
  • A Vice-Chancellor of a University nominated by the Government;
  • Commandant, Defence Services Command and Staff College;
  • Chairman, Bangladesh Federations of Commerce and Industry;
  • Chairman, Department of Public Administration, University of Dhaka, Chittagong, Rajshahi or Jahangirnagar by rotation in that order;
  • Two elites including one woman nominated by the Government.